5 pillars of Islam

5 pillars of Islam

Introduction to Islam


Islam is a monotheistic religion that teaches that there’s only one divine being, one supreme creator of the universe. The word of Islam means “ to submit one’s will to the will of God.

All the muslims believe that Islam is the true religion of God revealed to humanity.

Islam is a complete, holistic way of living that covers every aspect of life. It leaves no stone unturned as it teaches mainkind on how to behave in every area of life: individual, social, moral, political, cultural or global.

What are the 5 pillars of Islam?


The religion of Islam has been built on five pillars which means “the obligations that Muslims must satisfy to life and to bring them closer to God.


Belief in One God and the Testimony of Faith (Tawheed)

It’s an Arabic term which refers to unique belief in the oneness of God.

It refers to the belief that there is only one divine being that is worthy of worship Allah.

Tawheed is the first and the most important pillar of the five pillars of Islam. So, when Muslims mention the name of Allah, they are calling out to the one true God of the universe. However, believing and acting on this pillar is the kay to entering Islam.


You must to pronounce the (El Shahada) in order to enter the religion of Islam or to be a Muslim.

It means that there is no God but Allah and Prophet Mohammed is His Messager. Al Shahada means also that no one deserves to be worshipped except Allah and his prophet.

There are two parts of the first half of the testimony of faith:

The first part is “Laa ilaha illa Allah”.

This part of the testimony nullifies all forms of worshipping anything or anyone other than Allah. With this phrase, you are affirming that Allah alone is the creator, Ruler, and Sustainer of all things.

The second part is: “Mohammed Rasol Allah” peace be upon him.

This second part means to believe in this statement is to bear witness that Mohammed is the messenger of Allah, which means to follow what he says through obaying him in what he says to us to do and to avoid from what he forbids.

2-Prayer (Salah)


Prayer is the second pillar of Islam and the most important pillar in Islam. It is the first thing that a person will be held accountable for the day of Judgment.  It performed in the direction of Mecca five times a day. Although salah can be performed alone, it is metritorious to perform it with another or with a group.

It is permissible to pray at home, at work, or even outdoors; however, it’s recommended that Muslims perform salah in a mosque. There are five times a day that the Muslims perform which are : Al fager in, Al Doher, Al Aser, Al Maghreb, Al Ishaa. Prayer includes a recitation of the opening chapter (sura) of the Qur’an, and is sometimes performed on a small rug or mat. Hence, men gather in the mosque for the noonday prayer on Friday and women are welcome but not obliged to participate.



Zakat literally means to clean something it recognizes by the meaning of charity in Islam. Zakat is an obligatory tax required of muslims and one of the five pillars of Islam. So, every year, all the muslims must pay a 2.5% share of their held wealth to the poor where them cash, property, silver or gold. Rather than our wealth, we should support the poor through our deeds towards those who need more help and support that help us enter Jannan. It is not an optional act of generosity, but it’s a compulsory act that each qualifying Muslim needs to carry out annually. The many benefits of giving zakat include some benefits like:

  • A way of purifying one’s own wealth.
  • Promoting a balanced society with equality and fair.
  • Learning to share and help one another; observing society.



Sawm is an Arabic term meaning fasting, and particularly associated with Ramadan which is the nine month in Islamic calendar.

Fasting is the fourth pillar of Islam and regarded an act of deep personal worship in which Muslims seek a richer perception of God. However, Fasting is also an exercise in self-control whereby one’s sensitivity is heightened to the suffering of the poor.

During Ramadan, fasting requires Muslims to abstain from food, beverages, including water, sexual intercourse and other activities during daylight hours. Muslims break their fast at sunset. With a special meal or iftar and perform additional nocturnal worship, called Taraweeh, after evening prayer. Ramadan is the month during which the holy Qur’an was revealed to the prophet Mohammed. There are three days observed with celebration at the end of Ramadan called Eid Al-Fitr, the feast of the breaking of the fast.



Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam and the last one. It is a time that all  the Muslims from around the world congregate in Mecca to worship Allah and perform several rituals to increase faith.

It falls in 12th and final month of the Islamic calendar, through a journey that every Muslim is obligated to take at least once in their lifetime. It is also a spiritual time that allows you to become closer to Allah. In performing the Hajj, a pilgrim follows the order of ritual that the prophet Mohammed performed during his last pilgrimage. Hajj is followed by the festival of Eid A- Adha.


These are the five pillars of Islam. It is important to remember that Islam is a religion that encourage and promotes peace and love between all the people. So, such these acts of humanity are essential upon all able much Zakat you own. Every Muslim should do every pillar as mentioned in Qur’an and apply it sincerity.

Udemy & Aya Intitute Quran Course Free Quran Learning Service - Aya Institute

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *